Call for Participation for TCDE Chair Election

Dear IEEE TCDE members,

The Chair of IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Data Engineering (TCDE) is elected for a two year period. The mandate of the current Chair, Xiaofang Zhou, expires at the end of this year and the election of a Chair for the period 2019-2020 has begun. A Nominating Committee consisting of Kyu-Young Whang (Chair) and Amr El Abbadi was formed on May 9th, 2018. After a thorough search, we have identified two highly qualified candidates, Thomas Risse and Erich Neuhold, who have confirmed their willingness to serve. Candidates bio-sketches and position statements appear in this issue of the Bulletin. The Nominating Committee encourages all members of TCDE who are IEEE CS members to vote to elect a new Chair. Voting will be open from Sept. 15th until Oct. 15th, 2018. Those who wish to become a TCDE member, please visit http://computer.org/jointcde

Kyu-Young Whang, Amr El Abbadi IEEE TCDE Chair Nominating Committee