## **Message from the TCDE Chair Nominating Committee**

The Chair of the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Data Engineering (TCDE) is elected for a two-year period. The mandate of the current Chair, Kyu-Young Whang, is coming to an end and it is time to elect a Chair for the next two years.

The TCDE Chair Nominating Committee, consisting of Amr El Abaddi, Paul Larson, and David Lomet, has nominated two candidates for the position as Chair of TCDE: Erich Neuhold and Xiaofang Zhou. The Committee regards both candidates as highly qualified to fill the office of Chair of the Technical Committee, and urges members to cast their votes.

More information about TCDE can be found at http://tab.computer.org/tcde/ as well as in the accompanying election announcement below from Brookes Little of the Computer Society.

David Lomet, Paul Larson and Amr El Abbadi Microsoft, Microsoft, and UC Santa Barbara

## **Election for Chair of IEEE Computer Society TC on Data Engineering**

The 2014 TCDE Chair election is now open. The Chair's term will run from January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2016.

The poll will close November 3, 2014, at5:00pmPacific time.

Before entering the poll, please take a few moments to review candidate Biosketches and Position Statements, which can be found here: http://www.computer.org/portal/web/tandc/tcde

Please note: Only Computer Society (CS) Members who are also TCDE Members can vote. \*\*To cast your vote, you will need your IEEE CS Member number. To obtain a misplaced number, please visit: https://supportcenter.ieee.org/app/answers/detail/a\_id/353/session/L3RpbWUvMTM3NTc0NDYxMi9zaWQvdXIxcVAxeGw%3D

To ensure your TC membership is valid and up to date, please log in to your IEEE Web Account and check your membership status: https://www.ieee.org/profile/public/login/publiclogin.html

You may vote only one time.

VOTE here: https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/HHMDH8K

If you have trouble voting, please contact T&C Senior Program Specialist, Brookes Little (eblittle@computer.org).

Thank you for your participation in this election!

Brookes Little IEEE Computer Society