Message from the TCDE Chair Nominating Committee

The Chair of the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Data Engineering (TCDE) is elected for a two-year period. The mandate of the current Chair, David Lomet, is coming to an end and it is time to elect a Chair for the next two years.

The TCDE Chair Nominating Committee, consisting of Masaru Kitsuregawa and Paul Larson has nominated two candidates for the position as Chair of TCDE: Malu Castellanos and Kyu-Young Whang. A call for nominations was published in the June issue of the Data Engineering Bulletin but no other nominations were received.

More information about TCDE can be found at http://tab.computer.org/tcde/.

Paul Larson and Masaru Kitsuregawa Microsoft Corporation and University of Tokoyo

Election for Chair of IEEE Computer Society TC on Data Engineering

The 2012 TCDE Chair election is now open. The Chair's term will run from January 1, 2013 through December 31, 2014. Before entering the poll, please read the following:

- Please take a few moments to review candidate Biosketches and Position Statements in advance of voting at http://www.computer.org/portal/web/tandc/tcde
- To cast your vote, you will need your IEEE CS Member number (to obtain a misplaced number, please visit http://www.ieee.org/web/aboutus/help/contact/index.html).

Vote here: http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/BQCNFWG

Note: Only CS Members can vote. You may vote only one time. Polls close October 31, 2012, at 5 pm Pacific time.

If you have trouble voting, please contact T&C Sr. Program Specialist, Carrie Walsh (ccwalsh@computer.org). To ensure that your TC membership is valid and up to date, please log in and update your contact information and TC affiliation at

https://www.ieee.org/membership-catalog/productdetail/showProductDetailPage.html?product=CMYDE709. This requires an IEEE Web account, which is available free at http://www.ieee.org/go/create_web_account. Thank you for your participation in this election.

Carrie Walsh IEEE Computer Society